A morning account in two parts. First. Things are different here in Vermont. Although the 20 or so inches of snow that fell on the Champlain Valley did so between 48 and 72 hours ago, the roads in the Green Mountain State’s largest metropolis are still difficult to navigate if you are one of the 1 in 100 Vermonters without a Subaru or Pick-Up Truck. Secondly. I have discovered that the modern amenity of the indoor shower doubles as a portal. Try it. In any given shower, you step in, pull the curtain or door, turn on the water, and immediately it is easy to forget exactly where in space that shower is placed. Instant transport wherever in space you would like to be. I step out of the shower and lift the curtain. There’s the snow fort my housemates built. A little smile pulls at my lips. I think I’ll stay here for a while.

