Debatable that it is the most important meal of the day, it’s certainly getting more of my attention these vacation days. Breakfast on a work day is a planned event. All items are lined up in my head, and I go directly to them, having just enough time to wrap them in a piece of tinfoil before starting away to work. Leisure time breakfasts are an entirely different creature. Although I’ve been up for a couple of hours, I have no idea what I will eat for breakfast. The ingredients are discovered as I look over the refrigerator shelves. They have a life of their own. Perhaps a simple egg and toast combination, or some elaborate use of leftover ham and potatoes. It could go on for hours. A cup of coffee and a walk. Some toast and a game of cards. Pancakes, then a bit of the daily news. Every bite for itself, not as an unnoticed rush of nourishment. A true vacation is marked by the leisurely breakfast. So I’d better get to it.

