I am no stranger to movement. Planes, trains, automobiles and my own two feet have propelled me from sea to shining sea, and across the vast Pacific of these. Sometimes it seems that the momentum is such that even when I try to stop, the events of my life never quite settle. Yet, for the past year or so, staying still is an experiment I tried. Tomorrow, I set off south until the New Year, and shake up any of the road dust that has managed to find a comfortable spot here in Vermont. I try to tell these molecules that this is just a short holiday trip, but they are suspicious. They remember when my short trip to Oregon turned into me living there for 5 years. I’ve been holding off on packing, trying to keep it a secret. Now, I am still, here, in a moment before I release the ball along twisting channels and tubes. I’m here for now.

